This review reflects our experience from September 2016.
Have you ever found yourself spending the day at Magic Kingdom and trying to figure out a filling and cheap meal? When we first went vegan the only options we could find anywhere were veggie burgers. Soon everywhere in Magic Kingdom carried a veggie burger and we quickly grew tired of these meals on our trips. Suddenly, Disney changed their mind about veggie burgers and they started to replace these meals with other options. One of the first to change drastically was Pecos Bill Tall Tale Inn and Cafe who was a burger quick service. Pecos Bill’s completely changed their menu to be Mexican food, which meant no more burgers!
This week reader Julie shares about her recent trip to Walt Disney World, thanks Julie!
Before this trip, I had never been to Disney as a vegan, so I did tons of research before I went to make sure I could get the most out of my trip (and this blog was my best source of information!). We arrived on Sunday, June 10. We were staying at Port Orleans French Quarter (which is awesome, by the way!). Our first park was Magic Kingdom, and we got in and immediately went to Pecos Bill Tall Tale Inn and Café for lunch. If you tell a cast member you’re vegan, they might not know exactly what that means, so it’s best to tell them exactly what you don’t eat. After I explained it to the cast member, he gave me several options. I ended up with a bowl of rice and black beans with roasted zucchini on top. Of course, I went over to the toppings bar and piled it high with tomato salsa, guacamole, hot peppers, and onions. With the extra toppings, it was plenty of delicious food.
This review reflects our experience in November of 2014.
When you’re looking for a quick service option in Disney’s Magic Kingdom park you’re most likely to pick one near where you are at the time. Pecos Bill’s Tall Tale Inn & Cafe (Pecos Bill’s for short) is a quick service restaurant located in Frontierland in the Magic Kingdom. Pecos Bill’s offers burgers, BBQ and chicken sandwiches. Luckily they also offer a Vegetable Burger that happens to be vegan! They use a Gardenburger® Malibu burger patty which is made from organic corn, carrots, onions, green pepper and whole grains.
The Gardenburger® Malibu Burger is the patty offered off the menu and is vegan as is. Unfortunetly the bun they use contains honey, so if this is something you don’t eat you can ask for the allergy free gluten free bun which doesn’t contain eggs. There are two gluten free buns and one is not vegan. Be sure to check the allergy booklet to ensure your bun is egg free. We talked to an allergy specialist when we ate here in November 2014 who offered to cook our burgers on a separate grill. It took a little longer because of this, but at least we didn’t have any beef burger juice on our patties! Continue reading →