We often see similar questions throughout the vegan Disney community. We have answered some of them here.
[Red text are links to other websites or reviews of our own]
I have allergies and am looking for specific items to avoid, how can I get that info?
We understand that avoiding certain foods can make dining a bit harder. Given that we are not a gluten free or soy free blog we often don’t ask about these things. However we have a great resource in our friend Sarah from Gluten Free & Dairy Free at WDW. She has a whole page on her blog with allergy menus all over, you can find that here.
Are Dole Whips vegan?
Yes, as long as you get the pineapple or orange flavor. The vanilla flavor is not vegan. You can find Dole Whips at both Aloha Isle in the Magic Kingdom and Pineapple Lanai at the Polynesian Resort, Pop Century and Disney Springs. Additionally the Pineapple Whip Soft-Serve from Tamu Tamu in Animal Kingdom is vegan.
The Orange Cream from Sunshine Tree Terrace at Magic Kingdom is vegan without the vanilla swirl.
The Peter Pan Float from Storybook Treats in Magic Kingdom is a Lime Dole Soft Serve and is vegan when ordering without the chocolate feather.
Is Disney popcorn vegan?
Yes, all of the Disney ‘buttered’ popcorn fresh from the carts are vegan. They use an artificial dairy free butter flavoring for the popcorn. The Maple-Flavored popcorn from Canada in Epcot and Frontierland in Magic Kingdom is also vegan.
Are pretzels in Disney vegan?
Yes they are, Mickey shaped pretzels found throughout the parks and the salted ones in the Germany pavilion.
Where can I find vegan ice cream?
Many locations offer Tofutti and Rice Dream frozen desserts, including: Plaza Ice Cream Parlor in the Magic Kingdom, Dino-Bites in Animal Kingdom, the Hollywood Scoops in Hollywood Studios, and Beaches and Cream Soda Shop at The Beach Club Resort, as well as many table service locations. Vegan sorbet can be found at L’Artisan des Glaces in Epcot and also available at many locations throughout the parks and resorts. Please note when ordering Tofutti/Rice Dream it may take a moment or two longer to be served, as those items are scoops separately (sometimes in the back) to avoid cross-contamination.
Is the Disney Dining Plan worth it as a vegan?
It depends, if you are planning on doing lots of character meals then yes. If you are planning on avoiding buffets and character meals then no. Typically the vegetarian meal on the menu is a few dollars less than the other entrees. Additionally, with the Magic Your Way Package Plus Dining, you get a dessert with a table service meal and most restaurants do not offer vegan desserts so you get stuck with either fruit or Enjoy Life cookies. This Disney Dining Plan Calculator is a great tool to decide if the dining plan is good for you.
Who do I tell that I am vegan when ordering?
If you are at a quick service, tell the cast member who is at the register. From here they will either give you an allergy binder or have a chef come out to help you.
If you are at a table service, let the host know and they will mark it on your reservation card. Once you are seated remind the server and depending on where you are dining a chef will come out to speak to you or there is already a vegan item on the menu.
Do I have to call ahead?
We personally have never called ahead to alert the restaurant of being vegan. When you are making your reservation you can mark allergies if those are your concerns. We do not feel that you need to call ahead as the restaurants on Disney property are typically prepared for visitors with special diets. If you would like to contact Special Diets you can email them here Special.Diets@DisneyWorld.com
Are there any restaurants with completely vegan menus?
Yes! The restaurants that have them have changed over the years, currently we know of vegan and vegetarian menus at Jiko, California Grill, The Wave, Gasparilla Island Grill, Flying Fish, and Narcoossees.
What’s the deal with allergy menus?
During the Spring of 2015, Disneyland and Disney World parks and resorts began rolling out allergy menus at select table and quick service restaurants. The goal of these menus is to make it easier for folks who have common food allergies, such as peanuts, tree nuts, soy, gluten/wheat, milk, egg and fish. Allergy menus can be helpful for vegans in determining if a meal contains milk and/or egg. However, these menus will not list other animal products or bi-products such as honey or gelatin. Guests will always have the option of consulting with a chef, whether they are using an allergy menu or not. If you want to see some menus, check Gluten Free & Dairy Free at WDW here.
Are all of the veggie burgers vegan?
Previously our answer to this was no, however recently Disney World has changed many of the veggie burgers to actually be Beyond Meat Beyond Burgers which are vegan AND gluten free, additionally the Impossible Burger has been working its way around too. Be sure you ask what the patty is when you order, if it is the standard veggie burger it is not vegan and they often have Gardenburger Malibu burger available which are vegan. Always double check the bun when you are ordering, some contain honey.
Where can I find the Beyond Burger?
Liberty Inn (Bun is not vegan)
Pecos Bill Tall Tale Inn & Cafe
End Zone Food Court at Disney’s All Star Sports
Intermission Food Court at Disney’s All Star Music
World Premiere Food Court at Disney’s All Star Movies
Landscape of Flavors at Disney’s Art of Animation
Everything POP! at Disney’s Pop Century
Sassagoula Floatworks and Food Factory at Disney’s Port Orleans French Quarter
Riverside Mill at Disney’s Port Orleans Riverside
P&J’s Southern Takeout at Disney’s Fort Wilderness
Chuck Wagon at Disney’s Fort Wilderness
Gasparilla Island Grill at Disney’s Grand Floridian Resort and Spa
Paddock Grill at Disney’s Saratoga Springs
Roaring Fork at Disney’s Wilderness Lodge (not on menu, must request)
Geyser Point at Disney’s Wilderness Lodge (not on menu, must request)
Ale & Compass at Disney’s Yacht Club
Lottawatta Lodge at Blizzard Beach
D-Luxe (bun is not vegan)
Where can I find the Impossible Burger?
Liberty Tree Tavern
Splitsville (must request vegan)
House of Blues
Sebastian’s Bistro at Disney’s Caribbean Beach
Whispering Canyon Cafe at Disney’s Wilderness Lodge (lunch)
Where can I get groceries?
All Disney resorts offer a small store with items like loaves of bread, fruit, single serve soy milk, peanut butter and more. If you are looking for more check out our post about how to get groceries for your trip with Amazon Prime Now here. We know others have also used Instacart to get food to their resort.
What about Universal Orlando and Island’s of Adventure?
We’re not Universal pro’s, but luckily we know who are! Our friends over in the Universal Orlando Vegans Facebook group have created a great resource for finding vegan options in Universal. What was once a hard place for vegans has become super vegan friendly since fall of 2018 with the addition to vegan burgers and chickn sandwiches in the parks. Find the full list here.
Who is paying for your meals that you review?
We are! Every meal you have seen on here is something we have paid for out of our pocket. Disney does not pay us for our reviews, we are here to just spread the word of how vegan friendly our favorite place is. If you would like to support us and help us to try more meals you can purchase a shirt from our TeePublic shop, share our page with your friends, or just keep visiting our site! [This contains affiliate links, by purchasing from the link provided we receive a small commission which does not effect the cost of your purchase.]
Looking for some help planning your next Disney vacation? Contact our own Melissa Kramer for her FREE services with Pirates and Pixie Dust Destinations! You know you won’t end up hungry!
Vegan Disney World does not represent the Walt Disney Company in any way and is not employed by or affiliated with The Walt Disney Company. Our reviews and opinions are our own.